John Legend & The Roots to release new album “Wake Up!”

Friday, June 25, 2010
By Sara Moore

Six time Grammy winner John Legend and hip-hop band The Roots teamed up to record their first album Wake Up!, which is due out on September 21, 2010. The cd, which was inspired by the 2008 U.S. Presidential election, features soulful music from the 60’s and 70’s. The collaborators had originally planned to record a single, but it quickly developed into a full length album that represents change, hope and activism.

The 11 songs on Wake Up! are infused with sounds of gospel, rock, reggae, and hip-hop and includes versions of Wholly Holy by Marvin Gaye, Little Ghetto Boy by Donny Hathaway, Hard Times by Baby Huey and the Babysitters and Hang on in There by Mike James Kirkland. The only original song on the album Shine, is featured in the upcoming documentary film Waiting for Superman.

The first single Wake Up Everybody, on which Common and Melanie Fiona contributed, has four verses. The first verse is a general statement, the second is about education, the third is about health care, and the fourth is about making a better environment.

The Roots can currently be seen nightly as the house band on Late Night with Jimmy Fallon. Get an exclusive look at John Legend & The Roots’ live, studio performance of Hard Times at

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments